Disability Categories

Books.png    Disability Categories

In order to qualify for special education under the regulations that implement the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), a child needs to be a child with a disability, meaning that the child has been evaluated as having a qualifying disability, and by reason, thereof needs special education. [See 34 C.F.R. § 300.8(a)]

  • The child must have a qualifying disability as defined by the IDEA regulations;
  • The disability must have an adverse effect on the child’s educational performance; and
  • The child must need specially designed instruction in order to access and make progress in the general education curriculum.

The disability categories under the IDEA are listed below:

Autism (A)
Developmental Delay (DD)
Emotional Disturbance (ED)
Hearing Impairment (HI)
Intellectual Disability (MIID, MOID, SID)
Multiple Disabilities (MD)
Multiple Disabilities w/Severe Sensory Impairment (MDSSI)
Orthopedic Impairment (OI)
Other Health Impairment (OHI)
Preschool Severe Delay (PSD)
Specific Learning Disability (SLD)
Speech or Language Impairment (SLI)
Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)
Visual Impairment (VI)